• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Ropeman vs Prusik (is it necessary?)

ICU outdoors

Hi all! I am brand new to saddle hunting and can't wait for the opener here in Texas. I just found out about saddle hunting and have dove in head first. I'm starting my first season off with a modified sit drag and rock climbing harness. I've spent a chunk of money and time on getting ropes and accessories trying to keep weight and bulk as minimal as possible. I have yet to climb with a lineman rope (my rope should arrive sometime today). I've been watching YouTube and researching a lot. Everyone is swearing by the ropeman but before spending more money on another gadget when I already have rope I can make a prusik with, how much of a pain is it to climb with the prusik? Do you need to constantly be moving the prusik when you climb? Thinking of going this first season with the knot just because I haven't hunted from a saddle and don't want to go to crazy my first season. Any input would be greatly appreciated!! Thanks in advance and happy hunting stay safe!

it's the best money you will spend on saddle setup. The prusik works - but it tightens down once under load and takes two hands to move it. You will adjust the length of your tether and linemans belt frequently and the ropeman gives you one handed functionality - try it with prusik first, then try the ropeman and you'll never go back