• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Sitters

Birddog

I’ve been leaning exclusively for a couple of years, but I’ve been having knee trouble and it would help to be able to sit more. From a standpoint of tree selection, equipment, and setup, how are you sitters doing it? Knee pads? Straddling the tree? Picking a tree with more lean to it? Hope my question makes sense.

I bought an XOP seat pad. I take a large bungie loop it through the eyelets of the pad the around the tree then make it tight to itself at knee height. it works perfect doesn't make any noise and its easy to pack in and out each sit.

I second the XOP seat pad it works great and you can straddle the tree also with it. I just strap it to my pack and place on the tree once I pull my pack up works perfectly. I do think it makes a little noise depending on the pants you are wearing but not enough to hear at ground level.

I wear knee pads every single time I hunt. I mostly sit with my knees leaning into the tree. I will shift from more weight on the left to both to the right, to leaning on the sides of them up against the tree. This just keeps the pressure off any one spot for a long time. During the rut when I'm hunting multiple all day sits in a row, my knees do start to get a little sore. But for the rest of the time I don't have any problems.

I too started to sit more this year, I found it helped me from moving and turning more than when I was leaning.