• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Static vs dynamic rope question

Sincyrman

I'm new to ropes and just curious.
For saddle hunting, is there a serious difference between static and dynamic rope? It's not like we are dangling from 200'. Mostly we would be falling/slipping about a foot.
Are we limiting ourselves in rope selection?
Am I missing something?
Thanks in advance.

I'm new to ropes and just curious.
For saddle hunting, is there a serious difference between static and dynamic rope? It's not like we are dangling from 200'. Mostly we would be falling/slipping about a foot.
Are we limiting ourselves in rope selection?
Am I missing something?
Thanks in advance.

A static rope uses less human energy for tree Climbing. That is why they are used. We in saddle hunting use the whole set up to prevent us from falling while. While a rock climber anticipates a fall. Which may be 40’ or greater. Thus they use a dynamic rope.

If you are climbing a tree correctly you should never slip more than a foot or two at most. You are always tied in with a load on the lanyard and tether. Personally, I am incorporating a Buckingham tree squeeze into my set up so that while climbing if a slip it will grab me within a foot or so. A little more work, but I have fallen and all I can say is the good Lord was watching over me

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro