• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

The learning curve...

Swanny

I'm definitely a newbie here and can't say I "know" a whole lot about saddle hunting or an expert on anything related to hunting from a saddle. However, I am trying to learn. Practice seems to be the only way to do that and that is all I have so far. Got my kestral and wild edge steps not too long ago, have spent some time getting up and down, sitting and shooting from the tree. Season opens in about a month so no hunts as of yet.

Here are my thoughts....

1) I think I'm gonna love this! Although I don't have any hunts in the saddle so far, I really don't anticipate my climbers getting much use anymore, haha.

2) It was slow going at first, but I have gotten much more familiar with everything making it quicker for me to get set up. I still have a ways to go but it IS getting easier each time.

3) Trusting my equipment is also making things much easier. I will be honest and say I'm not the biggest fan of heights. I've never let that stop me from getting off the ground as I have used climbers for years but I let that fear make me cautious and deliberate when it comes to safety. It's a little weird to try to explain but I feel more free to move around for shots and more safe at the same time while in the saddle.