• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

You didn't kill that deer cause why?

1simplemann

SH Member
Being a successful deer hunter is an accumilation of learning from your mistakes. I've been showing my partner the ropes for a few years now. He's learned a ton and starting to kill them pretty regular. However hunting is process and I'm still learning myself. If you put enough factors in your favor, eventually your going to be successful. I started thinking about the reasons why we don't get them. Here are some. Hopefully you can add to the list.

Saw you walk in.
Smelled you walk in.
Heard you walk in.
Got to the tree too late.
Smelled you in the tree.
Smelled your ground scent.
Heard you set Up.
Saw you set up.
Too high in tree.
Too low in tree.
Silhouetted in tree.
Not enough cover.
Heard you move.
Tree stand creaked.
Heard you draw.
Couldn't see the deer coming.
Not ready.
Not paying attention.
Asleep.
Missed.
Estimated distance wrong.
Wrong pin.
Pin's off.
Too far for shot.
Too close for a shot.
Wrong tree.
Didn't hunt.
Couldn't get him stopped.
Dropped your bow. (This happened to me last year. I hung my bow on an inferior branch. I bumped it as I was reaching for it. Down it went. a 150" WAS coming in!)

Anyway there's my list. Maybe you guys can add to it. I'm sure I can think of more. However however if you can eliminate all of those factors the surely anyone can kill a deer with a bow!

Last edited: