• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Who's using single bevel broad heads?

Do the single bevels leave a better blood trail than double because of the S twist they seem to leave? Also, any noticeable difference in lack of penetration?

I've been using Grizzly and Tuffhead single bevels for a few years now and have had great results. I use left bevel and match my fletching. I started using left bevel because my trad arrow setup had a left helical fletching jig on my Bitzenberger. That is what I started with and what I have used. It makes things simple. I normally mount the 190 broadheads on 100 grain steel adapters for the compound which makes a roughly 300 grain head.

I get them hair popping sharp.

In 2019 I broke down my biggest buck to date with a shoulder shot at 12 yards with a 190 grizzly left bevel, 650 grain arrow with 29% FOC. The buck never took another upright step. His front legs gave way and he pushed himself on his nose 20 yards off into a creek and that was that. This was out of a 60 pound compound.

I had a doe take a step just as the arrow released and resulted in a gut shot. That arrow passed through her so effortlessly and quietly she didn't realize what happened. She walked over a few yards and bedded down. I did not have another chance for a follow up shot.