• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Hardest terrain to deer hunt in your opinion

bigmike23

Jan 29, 2020
NE PA
I've hunted just about everything but Ag. I've hunted swamps, bogs, flat land, mountains, big woods you name it.
I've been hunting big woods Mtns for 2 years now determined to kill one of these giants up here and to me it's by far the hardest.
The wind has no rhyme, reason, logic, theory or understanding to it. Thermals never do what they're supposed to. Its so so hard to get any consistency here to hunt certain spots effectively

Food is absolutely everywhere as well as acorns making deer extremely nomadic.
Bedding is absolutely everywhere making it very difficult to plan an attack

Seems like just lots and lots of time on stand during the pre rut and rut is the only way it can be done

neonomad

SH Member
Sep 4, 2019
I’ll add to this the river valley I’m currently hunting. Wind swirls terrible if you’re in it, and if you are out of it, in the evenings the air is pulling right to em. Common denominator here is unreliable / unhelpful winds.

elk yinzer

SH Member
Oct 23, 2017
State College, PA
Amen. Find the does and put in the time.

Once in a rare while you'll find an overly aggressive buck that leaves a bunch of sign everywhere in a small area and you can move in and kill him there. But like you said most of the bucks are nomadic AF and a lot of the big ones just don't seem to want to leave a lot of sign period.