• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

New Saddle Hunter

Matt G.

Oct 18, 2017
SE LP Michigan
Evening Guys,

So I've been absorbing info for the last several months, not wanting to put the cart before the horse, since I didn't even own a saddle.

I'd first like to say how impressed I am with this forum. I've long abandoned another hunting forum frequented by Michigan sportsman, due to the tenor of the discourse. It's refreshing how humbly members share advice, tips, and knowledge......without condescending "know-it-all" attitudes. Quite a contrast from the other forum I'm referring to.

So my Kestral has arrived (just in time to be the second best saddle apparently), and I'm ready to start the learning process. I thought that it would be a pretty quick learning curve, but I haven't even left the ground yet! I'm now looking for some tips from the brain pool here to get me started.

I hunt 80% of the time on private land where I have the ability to preset trees. My property is 40 acres of a 70 acre woodlot, which as a whole is an island amongst AG fields in the Thumb. Deer concentration is very high, and stealth entry is a must. For this reason, I plan on using screw in steps for ascent. I'm still not sure on what type of platform I'll utilize, but I have my head wrapped around that variable.