• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

A little nervous

Grady1985

I am brand new to saddle hunting. I have only been playing around in the yard, but cant wait to get in the woods. I have modified a sit drag and made my own bridge out of Amsteel blue. I am having a hard time putting 100 % of my trust in such a small rope. Would there be any issues with using 3 HSS lineman ropes as my tether, bridge and lineman rope. i have used HSS lineman ropes alot while hanging lock ons so i feel comfortable with them. Any input would be greatly appreciated and thanks in advance

I still have a HSS rope laying around somewhere that I have used from time-to-time as a LB in a pinch. It's not bad rope however a quick google search yields very little about the actual manufacturer of the rope, it's breaking strength, nor it's composition. In fact if you search for the same thing you'll find a typical AT thread regarding this subject that is less than fruitful.

However on the other hand Samson is quite forthcoming about the specs of it's amsteel blue. I'm perfectly fine trusting my life to amsteel (as are many other saddle hunters), but would I trust HSS as my bridge? Probably not and I would much prefer amsteel over HSS rope. At the end of the day you'll have to weigh the pros and cons and make that distinction for yourself.

I'll leave it to the pros to chime in with their thoughts on HSS rope. Good luck on your saddle journey and welcome to the site!