• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Adding Cleat to Helium Climbing stick

Ted Feight

Again I am not new to saddle hunting, I have done it to decades. I am new to one stick climbing and modifying my Hawk Leluim sticks.

My question is what size screw to use in the 150 Harken Marine Cleat I am putting on it. What grade screw and what else do I need to know about doing this?

I had thought I had bookmarked a You Tube video, but I can not find it now?

Thank you for your help in advance!

God bless!

Ted Feight

I assume you meant helium stick. Try the search and you'll find there are a ton of threads and info on here about adding a cam cleat. I went with a #10 2 1/2 stainless screw grade unknown with nylon nut. I just bought them off the shelf at the local hardware. I bought the flat head cap screw for a more flush mount.

Cotehex,

Thank you!

Yes, I meant helium. I just was not sure what to use. I will take your suggestion.

God bless!

Ted Feight

Looks like I have one more question. When adding the Cam Cleat to the Hawk Helium stick, where do you attach the end of the rope not going through the cleat?

Looks like I have one more question. When adding the Cam Cleat to the Hawk Helium stick, where do you attach the end of the rope not going through the cleat?
Cut the aluminum with an angle grinder.
7739e4f1748a9e21acb8f7b309c8338c.jpg
f263390c71aadf93520e25cb4e0c876d.jpg
8587636badb5c462ac8b9950879532a9.jpg