• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Amsteel or rope for rope mod?

Gypsy.567

Ok so I am new to saddle hunting and have already dropped more money than I thought I would. So I am asking people opinion on Amsteel or rope for rope mod on one sticking. Let me know your thoughts. I did buy a cam cleat that will accept up to 5/8 rope.

I use 1/4” Amsteel. If you go with Amsteel, be sure to make a proper loop with a Brummell and full bury. Lots of videos out there.

Might as well start playing with the amsteel. Don’t need a fid, you have one already. You will be blown away how easy it is to make your own! That said, I’ve seen a lot of smaller cords like used on hitches etc., used too. The cam cleat was the main thing!

Might as well start playing with the amsteel. Don’t need a fid, you have one already. You will be blown away how easy it is to make your own! That said, I’ve seen a lot of smaller cords like used on hitches etc., used too. The cam cleat was the main thing!
I am a big guy so I went with the Schaefer’s fast entry 500 pound cam clear. It was $34. Just have never messed with Amsteel. I have no idea where to get it or anything. I have heard of people using it to make the bridge but that is all I know really. So if you know where I can get some please let me know