• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Another grasshopper here seeking wisdom

Pastorjim

I'm brand new to this and I need advice in several areas. I already purchased a Cruzr XC for my first saddle and the next thing I will be in the market for is a platform. I thought about a diy project but I don't know. The tethrd xl and the mission currently have my attention right now. My questions pertain to some of the other gear I already have. I have several rope tethers with Prussik knots that I think will work. They are about 6.5 feet in length and I'm sure they are strong enough since they came with my HSS vest or from a treestand purchase. Are those lengths long enough? I also already have a lineman belt that I purchased from HSS several years ago. It attaches with caribbeaners so I'm pretty sure that is useable in this application as well. One thing I really want to change is the way I attach my hawk helium sticks to the tree. I've watched several YouTube videos on this and it seems 8mm static rope is the way to go. Is that correct? Or is a versastrap or daisy chain a better option? Sorry about so many questions but I am a total newb.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

Welcome from Michigan.