• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

ATC for Rappelling

Tylerhorner33

Thinking about rappelling but I don’t have the money for a mad rock or petzl. Has anyone just used a classic ATC? I know it doesn’t have the built in safety but I could add a modified Prusic above it as a redundancy. Didn’t know if anyone else has done something Like this.

yes this was the setup recocmended to me by more experienced pepple on here and what i'm still learning/ getting comfortable with. one tweak though- put the prussik (autoblock) below the ATC on the tag end of the rope, not above it on the tree side (but either way just make sure it can't get caught in the ATC, i've found that if i clip the hollowblock in to a linesman loop and use a longer bridge it catches and holds completely before it can enter the ATC. your experience may vary depending on bodysize/ bridge length. Attach the prussik to a lineman loop and the ATC to your bridge like this and you can rappel with basically one hand on the autoblock/ tag end, and have the other if the ATC needs to be adjusted/ held then stop and take off your sticks etc with two hands. i think if the prussik is above it'll work the same way but youd need to rappel with one hand on the prussik, the other on the tag line, which doesn't give you any hands if the ATC needs to be held at an angle i'm still learning but use sterling hollowblock on my 8mm resc tech rope for this purpose.