• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Auto block vs rope for friction hitch backup for an ATC?

I am very new to saddle hunting so bare with me. What (if any) are the advantages or disadvantages of using a hollow autoblock cord vs a rope for backing up a belay device?

One advantage of the Hollow Block is it can be easier to tie a quick autoblock hitch, insofar that you don’t have to first tie a bulky double fisherman’s to connect the cord ends and it’s somewhat simpler to rapidly throw on the rappel line. A disadvantage is you have less hitch options with a closed loop cord; whereas if you wanted to experiment with eye-to-eye style hitches, you can with a length of cord. Not a major deal as a backup below an ATC, but something to consider nevertheless.

A lot of people like the Hollowblock because it's very soft cordage, and easy to quickly tie one-handed. I, personally, don't use it because (as I understand it) it's not rated for primary life support. It's intended as a backup - think "emergency brake" or "failsafe" - in a system in which all the other components are rated for primary life support, and is entirely appropriate in that application. Hollowblock comes from the rock climbing world and is discussed there in more depth and detail than among saddle hunters. Read up on what rock climbers say about "third hand" and "rappel backup".