• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Best strategy for drawing back and not being seen before the shot?

lmastrine

Dec 31, 2019
Hi,

I'm very new to saddle hunting, very much looking forward to later this year. I am wondering if anyone has any strategies to avoid being seen right before the shot with respect to drawing back on your bow. I plan on being up atleast 20 feet. Thanks

Jtaylor

SH Member
Dec 25, 2018
Use brush, limbs, etc to your advantage. Then let er rip when it steps into your shooting window. Another thing I was taught was if you can't see their eyes, they probably can't see you.

BTaylor

SH Member
Oct 23, 2019
Central Arkansas
Hi,

I'm very new to saddle hunting, very much looking forward to later this year. I am wondering if anyone has any strategies to avoid being seen right before the shot with respect to drawing back on your bow. I plan on being up atleast 20 feet. Thanks
Shoot a draw weight that you are in absolute control of regardless of position or conditions. This allows you to position the bow for the shot, prior to drawing, so the only movement is your draw arm elbow moving back into the full draw position.

kyler1945

SH Member
Dec 4, 2016
Willis, TX
1 - cover at deer's eye level, or closer to the deer than you, is far more effective than cover at your eye level, or closer to you. pick an ambush that makes best use of this fact.