• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Broadhead orientation

floydfreak

This is my first time building arrows. Just picked up a pack of Grizzlystik Maasi's and I'm not really sure how to orientation them.

My plans was to nock tune the arrows without having the inserts glued in until everything was flying perfect. Then once they were tuned Fletch the arrows and finally install the inserts with the Broadhead pointing straight up.

I've seen videos where guys install their inserts first testing for true spin and then nock tuning. Wouldn't this end up with you having boeadheads pointing in every direction?

Apologies if this is a dumb question but I've searched high and low and can't seem to find a straight answer.

Uniform broadhead orientation was/is mainly a thing with trad bows because of the wild paradox of the arrow coming out of the bow. Large fixed blade heads would react the same when catching the same air leaving the bow.

It's typically not an issue with the much stiffer arrows and cleaner flight from modern compounds.

Maybe use a very low temp hot melt on the inserts, then go back and epoxy them in once you're satisfied with nock orientation.

I've watched all the Ranch Fairy stuff and it was actually a podcast that he was recently on that made me question which way my broadheads should be orientated.