• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Crossbow Bolt/Broadhead Recommendations

CptFrank

So i am totally new to shooting a crossbow. I grew up gun hunting but now that i live in a new area and don't have access to private land, i want to take advantage of bow seasons as well. I know having a crossbow is not an excuse to forego practicing but i figured it would be an easier transition than learning to shoot a compound. I've had the xbow out a few times and am getting used to the mechanics of it but i have only shot the arrows it was supplied with (Killer instinct 415 with carbon arrows and 100g field tips). Now that i am starting to think about how i want to get set up for hunting i am totally overwhelmed by the amount of info on broadheads so if anyone has any recommendations i would be greatly appreciated. I will mostly be hunting deer but would love to take some hogs so if that changes things at all please let me know.

Some of my specific questions are:
1) Is there a consensus between fixed and mechanical or to each there own?
2) Is there a difference between heavier and lighter broadheads? I get that for the same speed heavier will penetrate better but when you factor in the slower speed a heavier arrow will go, whats the tradeoff?
3) (Sorry if this is a dumb one) Do arrows & broadheads shot at an animal ever get reused? I'm sure they are often damaged but idk if they are always damaged.