• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Hammock Technology for Saddle Hunting

jbogg

Full disclosure, I am brand new to saddle hunting but I am an experienced backpacker and Hammock camper. One of the most common complaints of hammock campers using a gathered end conventional hammock is what is known as shoulder squeeze. Saddle Hunters experience the same discomfort on a different part of the body and this is known as hip pinch. Several hammock manufacturers have addressed the issue of shoulder squeeze by producing what is known as a bridge Hammock. These hammocks use very light weight spreader bars made out of aluminum or carbon fiber at either end of the hammock completely alleviating the tight fabric constriction around the shoulders.
Using existing trekking pole technology it would be very easy to design an adjustable spreader bar that could be inserted into a couple of grommet holes on the front of the saddle. The length would be easily adjustable, and I’m guessing felt hip pinch could easily be reduced by 50% or more.
It’s all physics. Bigger guys will experience more hip pinch due to their weight. Seems like this would be a very easy solution and would eliminate much of the fiddle factor when it comes to determining bridge length and tether height. So, which manufacture is going to come out with this first?
2DEB750E-EBCD-44FB-A5C1-7AB084134F93.jpeg0B18338F-733C-4F02-B91C-FC99848533DC.jpeg

Last edited: