• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Hawk hang out

I'm new to saddle hunting as well came across this forum late in the season last year.
I also picked up the hawk hangout on clearance but haven't had a chance to use it. I changed the stand offs to the XOP six points and will be testing it out before next season.

I think it will work just fine but I believe guys have been hesitant to use it due to it’s weight.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I picked one of these up a while back, thinking I'd test it as a cheap platform. Here's what I found... which was pretty much already known:
  1. The included standoffs are pretty narrow, don't give much stability in side-to-side pushing. They also extend the platform away from the tree more than Lone Wolf standoffs.
  2. Lone Wolf standoffs can be used, but they don't have the side-locking "shoulders" that the factory ones do, so they're prone to spinning around against the base. Tightening the bolts down hard will make it less likely, but no matter how hard I dared tighten, I could still wiggle them around.
  3. Mine was missing the ratchet strap, so I tested it 2 different ways:
    1. I borrowed a strap from my helium sticks. It's a 1-inch strap, and it does ok, but it's a cinch tightening strap, not a real ratchet, so I wasn't satisfied with how tight I could get it.