• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Hawk heliums sliding

Ryanw5314

I am new to hunting in the saddle so climbing sticks are new to me. I am using the hawk heliums with mini versa straps. Today I was practicing climbing and when I put all my weight on my second step, it started to slide and I went with it until i reached the first step again. Then my first step slid to the bottom of the tree with me on it. It was a hard tree but I am wondering how to prevent this from happening. My theory is that the versa straps were not as tight as they should have been. I tighted it up but they still seem to not be biting in the tree very well. Any ideas?

Couple of things: are the versa buttons on your stick the stock 2019 ones? If so, the mini versa straps aren’t supposed to fit on those. Not that that is your issue, but wanted to clarify

Next, the daisy chain methods are prone to slippage because the straps don’t cinch as tight as a cam buckle.

So here is how I do it:
- step 0 is to make sure you’ve got at least one extra loop on the first end that is on the versabutton.
- pass strap around tree
- place stick where you want it
- pace loop over button, making sure the strap is even with the button all around the tree. Pull tight as you can to nearest loop. This minimizes slack.
- now pull the stick directly away from tree to maintain tension on strap
- now you can pull the stick down and lock it in place