• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Help with Aider Idea

Jajtner01

I've been looking at attaching either aiders or 18" climbing slings to the bottom of my climing sticks with the intent of using less equipment per tree. However, I can't seem to figure out how to get the straps to not blow in the wind. I'm new to the saddle hunting but when I was using tree stands in the past I'm the type of person that is anal enough to wrap and tie all straps on climbing stick and treestands so nothing blows when it's windy. I'm not sure if deer will even notice that in the first place but I never wanted to take the chance. I have no examples of when I didn't secure a strap and a deer spooked, but I feel like a blowing strap can draw attention.

If anyone has any idea on how to keep the straps in place that would be really appreciation.

Also, if anyone knows when my Mantis will ship that would be great too. I'm hoping it beats the September 1st opener here.

Would using an aider that you take up with you on each step/stick be an option? Attached to your foot maybe, so it wouldn’t fall

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk