• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Hoist rope or pack

Illinoisbowhuntress

I have always used a hoist rope to bring my bow up the tree but I now also have a backpack that I can strap my bow onto. So I was curious how everyone is getting their bow up the tree when saddle hunting, using a hoist rope or some other way? I have been considering using my backpack to get my bow up the tree but haven't fully decided yet.

This is my first year hunting out of a saddle but I’ve been wearing my backpack up the tree with me while setting sticks. Planning on figure 8-ing pull up rope off my saddle to pull my bow up. My backpack is made to hold a bow on the back but I clip my platform there and sticks on the side so it takes that option away.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hello Huntress, central Illinois saddle hunter too. I still use a haul line for the bow, I carry my pack up on my back, because for me I found, once I am all tethered in, I can pull out my hangers, get situated, then pull bow up, remove quiver, nock arrow and hunt. Just what I found works for me.

Hello Huntress, central Illinois saddle hunter too. I still use a haul line for the bow, I carry my pack up on my back, because for me I found, once I am all tethered in, I can pull out my hangers, get situated, then pull bow up, remove quiver, nock arrow and hunt. Just what I found works for me.
Thank you Sempertodd.