• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

I officially have analysis paralysis. More questions.

Jeff F.

Hello again.

I apologize in advance as I am new to the sport and I’m still trying to find the best system for my circumstances. I’ve new to saddlehunter and asking a lot of questions.

Quick recap.

I hunt public land, I like my climber (but want to get in more trees), I want to be able to hunt multiple spots and move around as I am still learning the terrain....

I’ve been messing around at ground level for two days in my first saddle and I love it. I’m going to keep it and I want to use it. My lower back does not agree with sitting so I love being able to stay off my ass.

Next step is how do I get up in the tree? Ideally I want to be able to “run and gun”.

I got some muddy aerolight climbing sticks. They felt too bulky and heavy to pack in every time so I returned them.

I got some lone wolf climbing sticks. They are light, compact, and super easy to pack....but I did not feel comfortable climbing them. I hunt late into the season and freezing, wet, dark conditions are a big consideration. I’m often frozen to near death coming out of a tree with diminished motor skills. The single sided small steps are a concern. I returned the lone wolf sticks.

Now I’m apologizing to my climber for thinking climbing in her was tough.