• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Is it just me or is...

20basstriton

Climbing a tree with a one stick alot of work? So far I haven't figured out how to get up easily with the one stick. It wears me out.
My setup is ewo ultimate platform with a 3 step aider. By the way I'm new to saddle hunting so take it easy on me.

Climbing a tree with a one stick alot of work? So far I haven't figured out how to get up easily with the one stick. It wears me out.
My setup is ewo ultimate platform with a 3 step aider. By the way I'm new to saddle hunting so take it easy on me.
Nah, but it did feel that way when I first started. Try to not over extend and try not to rush the movements. If you’re just starting out try using your lineman’s belt to climb the aiders, this will make it no different than climbing a regular stick with an aider. Other than that, get comfortable just sitting in the saddle with nothing under your feet. Being comfortable in this position is important in one sticking. Give it a little more time and practice. Good luck.

I’ve been trying to work 1 sticking into my repertoire for a while now but everytime I try it I’m a sweaty mess. I suspect it’s because if my pack on my back so going no forward I will leave pack on the ground and pull it up. We shall see…