• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

lessons learned from dry-run

beej32

I ran out to a nearby WMA over the weekend to dry-run a mobile hunt. Other than not wearing hunting clothes and not carrying my bow, I pretty much had everything I'd have for an actual hunt. I've always hunted solely on preset stands on private land, so I have no experience at all with mobile setups. I wanted to write this up for folks like me who are new to this. For the most part, I was trying to be as stealthy and quiet as possible, especially with the setup/teardown process and maneuvering in the tree.

TL;DR: I decided to remove excess "stuff" attached to Kestrel. This reinforced the amount of time/focus is required to ascend/descend safely and quietly. Bullman ring of steps really does need to be cinched down REALLY tight. Taking a leak is awkward. Probably best not to anchor on the high side of a leaning tree (likely related to mentions above about the bullman steps and peeing). Uncertain about necessity of knee pads. Repetition is needed. Practice in the dark is needed. Saddle hunting is a game changer.

Now more details...

The gear I had was:
-Kestrel kit, mostly stock but with a webbing bridge and a diy rope tender + prusik on the lineman's belt and 12' tether.
-rangefinder case hooked to the waste strap on the kestrel, used as an easy-access general accessory case.
-Summit bow hoist, attached to back of kestrel