• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Loan for hunting land

okccj

Hi, what's my best avenue to get a loan to purchase a hunting/recreational property? I have no experience related to this.
Thanks in advance.

Land loans aren’t cheap. Often owner financing. Some banks do it. Upwards of 40% down and 8-10% interest. 10 year notes

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hi, what's my best avenue to get a loan to purchase a hunting/recreational property? I have no experience related to this.
Thanks in advance.
I went through Compeer Financial. They were better than 2 other financial institutions that I do business with. I see them advertising outside of my state but I have never looked to see what geographic areas they cover.

Not that you asked for financial advice. But land loans typically require A big down payment and higher rates on shorter terms. And land doesn’t usually sell fast.

that adds up to your “money” not being very liquid. So make sure you have consistent earning potential, even in face of pandemic, or that this is money that you won’t need liquid for 1-2 years(Or more) it takes you to Sell the property. Don’t want to get in a bind.

only Bring it up because A - corona B - election year (and their effects on economy) and that you will tie up a significant chunk of the equity in something that can’t be easily liquidated in a rush.