• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Looking for some rookie advice

HotPickle

Hey guys! This is my first year hunting. I've been trying to learn as much as I can, and actually caught wind of saddle hunting in a Steve Rinella book... I've been creeping this forum a bit and absolutely love the idea. I want to buy one of the Eberhart books, but I'm having trouble figuring out which one. Can anyone recommend which one would be best for a beginner if I had to choose one? I plan on buying his videos as well (probably in the new year), but want to get started with a book.

Also, any other recommendations on where else I can find some learning material? I'm saving up for a saddle and some portable lightweight steps, I wanna have a wicked mobile setup for next year (and be able to practice all summer). I've kind of accepted that I should probably be putting my time and effort into next season, all I have right now is a bow, some camo, ****ty scent control (no scentlok yet), and I got my license in September so there was no scouting done and I have limited access to land. Dont know enough about the public land nearby at this point and I dont wanna go crashing through and ruin everyone's hunts.

I'm located in SW Ontario if there's any Canadians here!

Whitetail Access: How to Hunt Top Whitetail States Cheaply
by Chris Eberhart (Author)

https://www.amazon.com/Whitetail-Access-States-Cheaply-Effectively/dp/0896898342