• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Muddy stagger step

Ckwilli

SH Member
I'm new to saddle hunting and new to the forum so please excuse me if this topic has already been addressed. I'm putting together my saddle gear a bit at the time because of the high cost of gear. As of now I'm using muddy stagger steps to get about 15 feet up and using the top step as my platform. Has anyone else used these steps? I do see that sometimes steps are used for platforms. Any advice on mods or tips you can help me with? Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
i just got some stagger steps, and thought about bolting a small platform on top as well. I seen some other stagger steps, for the same price but went with M, because there is almost a platform on top, and with the square tubing, I thought it would be easy to bolt something on to enlarge it just a little, and from what I see on most platforms they are not too big anyhow. I should get my saddle in a few days, am anxious to try. also, if this doesn't hurt, a nice big doe came behind my stand , and to the wrong side for a shot, and I immediatly thought ," If I had my saddle, I could make this shot" good luck and be safe

I thought about adding a platform.
Some cons I came across: It can be tough to get past that last set if it's much bigger. Step can limit where you can put the platform since it so much longer that a traditional platform (example: you can't put it directly above a limb).