• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

My maiden voyage!

denots

I bought a set of spurs a couple of weeks ago. Been waiting on the Kiwi klimbers deal and figured I buy $200 set before I spent the big money and made sure I like them first. I have never used climbing spurs before, so I had no idea what to expect. I must say it is a rather odd feeling when you first step on the tree. But before I went out I watched about a three or four minute video and it made the whole process very easy. When I first started I just made little bitty baby moves maybe 3 or 4 inch at a time and got used to leaning back and trusting that the spikes were set in the tree deep enough. After I got about three or four feet off the ground I just stood there for about 5 minutes to kind of get used to the feeling. It's kind of like standing up, but not really the same at all. It's hard to describe. Well the tree I decided to climb had a hanger not far from my kids playset. I guess about 35 or so feet in the tree. After standing just above ground level for about 5 minutes I took off up the tree. I use my tether to move around limbs I just took my time and slowly began to trust that I was not going anywhere. I think most of the trust came once I started fighting with the limb at 35 foot trying to push and pull on it to get it to come loose. And it finally did come lose. It dropped about 10 foot to the next crook of the tree, and I had to move down and start the process all