• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Need help choosing a bow string.

Andrew

First I want to preface this post with the fact that I am brand new to traditional archery and know very little. I have a SWA Spyder 62" with #40 limbs on the way and I'm excited to start learning. One of the things I have read during my research is that I would probably benefit from upgrading to a better string right out of the gate. That sounded simple enough, until I started reading about all the different options for a string. Needless to say I quickly became overwhelmed and had a bunch of questions, which leads me here. Hope you guys can shed some light.

1. String length. What length string to I need? The bow is 62 AMO but not sure what string length a bow of that size would need. I'm assuming shorter? I've read 4" shorter than AMO, which would be 58". Is that a universal rule?

2. Material. I keep seeing that a "fast flight" string material will be best because it will stretch less overtime. What material is "fast flight", D97 and is that what you'd recommend?

3.Lastly is strand count. What factors are considered when deciding on stand count? Is it just limb poundage being used?

On your string length...get your bow to the correct brace height then take the string off and measure the total length. Any good string maker can make a Flemish string real close or endless loop almost exact.