• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Need help, shooting to the right!

flinginairos

Vendor Rep
So this is my first year using a Guidos Web. I absolutely LOVE this way of hunting and don't see myself ever using a traditional stand again. I have practiced a good bit with my set up and actually shot a pretty nice buck already this year from it. The ONLY problem I am having is a shot that would happen to be from 2-6 O clock to my right. I use a bridge set up on the web and have tried taking my bow over the bridge with an aggressive lean with the bridge and shooting to the right is extremely awkward! I know that shot is a lot of foot work too but I am having trouble getting it down. The other night while hunting, a buck was coming in and was going to end up on my right side so I simply moved my rope around the tree and was able to get into position that way, but it took too much time. Any tips on shooting to the right quickly without all the movement?

unfortunately there is no magic bean that I've found for that shot. I shot a deer at my 5 oclock position by contorting in the saddle and getting as close to backwards in the saddle as possible. But I've found walking around the tree counter-clockwise is the easiest way to make that shot. You're right - it's all about footwork and it just takes practice.

First, lets see a pic of your buck!