• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

New in GA

CrackbottomLouis

Hey all! As the title states I am from GA. NW metro ATL specifically.

I have been exploring more and more public/private land that I don't hunt regularly so was looking into options for a run and gun system that will give me the flexibility I need.

A couple weeks later and low and behold I am now a YouTube expert without ever having sat in a saddle :).

Joking aside, I am very interested in the method as it seems to be just what I am looking for despite my naysaying hunting buddies.

I'm about as wet behind the ears as you can get (my vast array of YouTube experience aside of course). So much info it's a little daunting. My "hanging experience " caps out at hammock camping on hiking trips. Rapelling a few times but so long ago I doubt I remember how to tie a harness.

Comfort is important to me over weight (within reason) so I have been looking at the Guidos Web. It seems everyone uses something different and the sheer scope of individual mods is intimidating for this non climber. Still looking up terms when I have no clue what is being discussed.

And the climbing methods look kind of complicated to me with my lack of climbing experience. The sticks look easy but not sure I want to hump those in to some of the places I go.