• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

New to the game. What’s good?

Andry534

Nov 23, 2018
Southern Indiana
So I am new to the saddle hunting game, and the website. I made do last year with a home made set up, but I’m confident it’s not nearly as good as some of the commercial stuff. So what’s the best? What do you prefer and why?

cb750

Nov 18, 2017
SWO
Welcome and hold on to your wallet.

Saddle hunting is very much a personal preference thing. There's no "best". There's a "best" for you and a "best" for me and even a "best" for ol' @Nutterbuster. Read through the Saddle Information for New Users to get an idea what's going on, then pick your way through things. I like sticks and a platform. My aerohunter evolution was best because it was what I could afford. There are some great commercially available saddle options out there 2 more just released recently. Climbing methods are definitely personal preference/whatevers legal where you hunt. There's wait times on a lot of stuff which may be an indication as to how many people like it.

If you decide ring of steps though your wrong . That and you should where crocs when posting photos that include your feet.

cb750

Nov 18, 2017
SWO
No problem, there is a lot of info. But it's hard to make recommendations due to the unique nature

cb750

Nov 18, 2017
SWO
Also not sure what your hunting grounds look like, but SRT is growing in popularity. You climb a tree with just a rope.

Silvio

May 6, 2019