• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Newbie looking for some advise.

Champ198

I have been doing some reading, watching some You Tube and the Saddle setup looks like a really nice tool for hunting.
At this point I am still pretty new with all of it and looking to give it a try but not sure I want to invest $600+ into it just yet.
My thought at this point was to buy a Saddle, The one I was mainly looking at is the Menace from Tethrd.
Then the platform From Hawk.
I have a Linesman belt that came with my HSS harness.
I have Hawk Helium Sticks now also.

So with this would the only other thing I would need be a Tree Tether?

There are know quality issues with the Hawk platform. Maybe look around the classifieds for a used saddle and platform.

There are know quality issues with the Hawk platform. Maybe look around the classifieds for a used saddle and platform.
I’ve used a hawk full size platform for 3 seasons now and it’s held up great. That said, I take a lot closer look at it these days and will probably be replacing this coming season.
OP, I recommend finding that Hawk platform failure thread and checking it out. Shoddy workmanship on someone’s platform that failed when it was new. I have a bunch of Hawk stuff including my saddle and am pleased with all of it, especially my sticks. I’ve adjusted my platform angle a few times and have it just right.
I did just buy a new saddle from Buzzard Roost, so I need to sell my Hawk I guess.