• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Position on the tree in relation to deer travel routes

KeithinPA

Hi All, I'm new to both Saddle Hunting and this forum. I've been hunting out of a saddle this year and think it's the absolute best thing to come along for those of us that want to get off the beaten track. The one thing I'm struggling with is how to set up in relation to anticipated deer travel routes. For simplicity's sake, lets say I'm a right handed shooter and, using the face of a watch to express direction, am expecting travel to go from 0900 to 0300. If I set up at 0600 directly behind the tree I'm faced with either hoping that I get a shot directly in front of me to get a broadside target or I need to finagle my bow over the bridge for a quartering away shot. If I position on the tree at 0700 or 0800 to better my opportunities at a broadside or quartering away shot then I loose the ability to hide behind the tree and if I don't have good back cover I'm much more likely to get picked off. Do you position yourself at 0900 so you have the trunk to break your outline? What is everyone's recommendation?