• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Properly calculating stitching strength

iconicflux

I have a lot of experience with sewing webbing straps (I'm a hammock camper that makes their own gear) and as a result I've done LOADS of research on how to make the strongest webbing straps. I've seen some projects on here that I feel could have used some of the knowledge so I thought I'd pass it on...

Properly calculating the strength of stitches (and how many inches of stitching are needed for a given strength) is done as follows:
1. Get a thread and research the strength of the thread. The Gutterman thread that I normally use has a breaking strength of about 8lbs per stitch.
2. Decide on the stitches per inch. I normally use 10-12 SPI but I may do up to 14 if the material is high quality and thick enough.
3. Calculate the strength for one inch:
SPI * thread strength * 1.5 = (so for my usual thread it's 12*8*1.5=144lbs per inch)
4. Calculate the number of inches of stitching needed (say I want 1500 lbs breaking strength):
1500/144=10.41 inches