• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Recommendations on a minimalist saddle?

Spartan

Looking for recommendations on a "working" saddle that would only be used to climb and hang presets, etc. Not for hunting or long sits. I don't like to work and sweat in the gear I am going to hunt with, and I'm looking to ditch the full body harness that I have been using to work for a few years now.

Minimalist as in I don't need any fancy bells or whistles and something packable and light weight and appropriately priced to reflect that. Not minimalist as in just two pieces of seat belt webbing. :wink:

Thanks for any recommendations.

i have a cheap petzl rock climbing harness that i attached lineman's loops to

that's what i use to climb to hang my trail cams 10 feet off the ground

unless you are one sticking and have to spend time sitting in it, then i think something like that would work pretty well

you can get one for less than fifty bucks

My 1st gen Method is my go to 'minimalist' saddle.

With a DIY Oplux rope belt I don't even know I'm wearing it around.

I have a wood hunting saddle I use in exactly the way you describe. Simple and elegant:

Looking for recommendations on a "working" saddle that would only be used to climb and hang presets, etc. Not for hunting or long sits. I don't like to work and sweat in the gear I am going to hunt with, and I'm looking to ditch the full body harness that I have been using to work for a few years now.