• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

replaceable blade knives - worth the hype?

slonstdy

SH Member
I've been doing research on how to pack out game and the proper kill kit necessities and see practically everyone carries and recommends a replaceable blade knife like a Havalon or Gerber to name a couple.
I've been carrying a 5" fixed blade Buck knife for over 15 years and have gutted and skinned plenty of deer with it without any problem which got me thinking about what is it that makes these type of knives so great? Is it the fact that they're less weight and there's never a need to sharpen a blade? I see them as a sort of sales gimmick, like for example the latest and greatest super duper rifle caliber that boasts a blazing 12fps faster than the one it was modeled after but costs almost double. I can sharpen my blade to shaving sharp and I might be concerned about weight and packability if I was hiking 15 miles but that is not my situation.
So what am I missing that makes these things a must have?

I've been doing research on how to pack out game and the proper kill kit necessities and see practically everyone carries and recommends a replaceable blade knife like a Havalon or Gerber to name a couple.