• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

replacing mantis leg strap g hooks with buckle

backstrap19

Hello,

I'm a mantis user, and generally I love it. However, i'm growing to hate the g hook leg loops. does anyone have any info on switching the leg loops to a buckle? keep in mind i have ZERO sewing machine experience or knowledge. any info on the type of buckle would also be helpful.

the reason i started to dislike the ghooks is mainly because when wearing the saddle in, i keep the leg straps loose to be more comfortable, but they eventually come unhooked when loosened. So, I started leaving them off and tucking them into my saddle when walking in. i also like to leave them loose so they don't restrict my leg movement while climbing and using my CAYG aider. I use the lower hookup that puts the strap perpendicular across my thighs. i prefer this hookup because when tightened down super tight, this helps prevent the saddle from riding up while in the tree. the higher hookup point doesn't help as much.

so again, any help on this topic would be much appreciated. I suspect that my lack of sewing experience will prevent me from doing this, but i'd really like to. i'd love to have the buckles stay hooked up and just loosened while walking and climbing. thanks in advance.

really?? do you have any info or pictures on this mod? did you use cobra buckles?