• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Rookie SRT Questions

Saddler

Jul 2, 2019
Charlotte, NC
I’m new to saddle hunting and have enjoyed learning from these forums the last few weeks. Just a quick thanks to everyone — this site is a great resource.

Onto my questions: I recently ordered a kestrel flex, but didn’t buy the kit b/c I’m not sure how I’ll climb. Maybe a basic setup —sticks with lineman’s rope and tether — but also considering SRT based on what I’ve seen here. It just looks efficient and fun.... at least for folks who know what they’re doing. I have lots of questions about SRT, but (at the risk of asking too much) below are several for starters. Most relate to safety. Thanks in advance for any suggestions or thoughts. Again, this is new to me, so just let me know if anything I ask doesn’t make sense.

SRT Equipment:
  • Is there anything I’d need beyond: saddle, rope, ascender, descender, and carabiners? Any specific recommendations?
  • What’s a good rope length?
  • Is a lineman’s belt necessary?

Setup at hunting height:
  • Once you reach hunting height, do you connect to the tree via: (a) the climbing rope only, (b) a separate tether only (e.g., detach from the climbing rope and connect using, say, the tether that comes standard from aerohunter) , or (c) both the climbing rope and separate tether?