• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Safety and redundancy...

grouse

I've been using a saddle on and off for a few years. In a tree stand the stand is your first layer of protection and the harness is your backup. How do you build this kind of redundancy into a saddle set up? I've been thinking about a secondary bridge and tether. Any thoughts?

This is just my opinion, but use the best ropes and biners you can, check it often for wear, and you don’t need backups. You can certainly run two bridges/tethers etc but to be truly covered for every situation that could go wrong you’d need backups for every single thing and I don’t think that’s a feasible thing. If the saddle is used correctly there should be no “fall”. The saddle isn’t for stopping a fall, but preventing one in the first place.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Assuming you're using one of the commercially available saddles like an Aerohunter or a Mantis there would be about a dozen things that would need to fail catastrophically before you actually fell out of the tree. That is if you're using the product(s) as intended.

There's a lot of redundancy inherently built into saddles - from the rigging hardware to the knots that are used.

But let's assume you're all setup at hunting height with one of the commercially available platform options (WE stepps, bullman steps, or predator platform, or screw in steps). We'll start from head down.