• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Scent Concerns with SRT Pre-Sets?

ZC87

I am brand new to saddle hunting this year. After TONS of research, I settled on a hybrid between One-Sticking and SRT Climbing. I hunt private and public. I don't really want to go poking tons of holes in trees on either, thus I opted for a combo of two public-friendly options. My thought was to One-Stick for the run-and-gunning, then anywhere I wanted to prep in the pre- or post-season, I'd leave paracord loops and climb SRT for speed and stealth.

I would never SRT without the preset in a hunting situation most likely. Just too much movement and noise. That said, I LOVE the idea of being able to preset 20+ trees for $50 of paracord... or at least that was my thought. Retrospectively I have one big concern - scent.