• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Seeker Platform

LOSTnWoods

Fellow Hunters who have a Cruser Seeker or using something else and not the strap that comes with platform.

I am new to the game. Have over a dozen practice sessions.

the struggle I have is getting the platform to correctly seat tight. It’s takes 3/4 times before it works. I even have tried toeing it first then cam. I’m starting to think it’s two things:

1: it’s me and have to keep practicing
or
2: the strap that comes with it is crap and swap out for something different
- I have my eyes on hangfree 3/16 Full Bury (H.F.A.S.)

im ok with the amstel since I have the skeletor sticks and use Amstel to lock in the steps and never had an issue.

thanks for your feedback.

I feel there’s definitely a difference in cam strap quality. The best ones I’ve always found were the old lone wolf style straps. Have never had a problem with those. But have had similar issues with some other straps. Some of them the strap material seems to slip right through the jaws no matter what you do.

Are you camming over the platform after you pull the strap tight? I’ve used several different platforms over the years, with cam buckles and have been able to achieve a solid set

I think you’ll find that you’ll spend more time fooling and fiddling with aftermarket Amsteel straps

Semper Fi,
Mike

Any new strap material is going to stretch some.