• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Shooting from saddle; leaning vs dropping bow arm

Wudzmann

So I'm new to this whole saddle concept and working on putting together a sitdrag until I know I like it enough to invest in a legit saddle. I'm curious about when shooting from a saddle, am I right to think I'm going to be leaning a lot to make sure that I don't drop my bow arm? Coming from treestand hunting, I've always focused on my pivot point being at my waist to keep my shoulders straight across, that part will be the same now when I'm standing on the platform, but if I'm leaning or sitting in the saddle, am I right to think that I'm going to have to still pivot at the waist and lean way out in order to not drop my bow arm? Dropping my bow arm has always changed my groups. I'm looking at some of these pictures of guys that are way up in trees, higher than the 15-20 feet I'd usually be up in a treestand. I usually set stands to be a 10-20 yard shot in hunting situations and if I'm 25-30 feet up into the tree, there has to be compensation somewhere in the shooting form since the trajectory/shot angle is now going to be more acute. Looking for advise so that I'm staying safe and using the experience of the group to make sure I think of everything in this process. Naturally I'm only going up a tree as high as I'm comfortable with, so I'd specifically like to hear advise in things like foot placement, if I need to wrap legs around the tree (haha