• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Silent Approach Steps

I'm new to saddle hunting this year, have half a dozen sits in the Kestrel now. I'm using a set of Silent Approach steps for climbing, and also 6 of the same steps (I got from @Jefferson10940) on a boat buckle strap for a ring of steps. Anyone else using this setup? It's lightweight obviously but not the fastest for getting up and down, but I've shaved a lot of time off by now. I think I'm down to 12-15 minutes for ascending and descending by now. I want to try some wild edge steps with aiders by next season but think I'll stick with this setup for now. Most of my hunts are going back a 3/4 mile or more on public marshes and such, so weight is a big factor. I'm liking the ring of steps though. I'm a skinny guy, 5'11 and 170, and I find the steps get tight enough where they don't hardly move.

IMO there are far better ways to get in a tree then individual strap on steps..... my Silent Approach Steps are still in the box they came in after trying them as a platform.