• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Sit Drag without RCH

PhilSch

I am new to the Saddle Game and am loving it. Lots of fun and I'm excited about the obvious advantages it brings to hunting effectiveness.

My setup consists of a nicely modified Sit Drag, RCH , 22" Heliums with 1/8" Amsteel Daisy Chain and Ridge Runner platform. I use a single 44" aider to get to approx 20' with 3 sticks. I am very comfortable at heights and climbing. My only problem is I find getting the lineman belt over the sticks very cumbersome. I have the lineman belt carabiners attached to the RCH belay loop which positions them close together above my crotch, putting the carabiners/belt very much in the way of the sticks. If I move the carabiners out to the bridge loops of the Sit Drag it is WAY easier to climb and descend as the lineman belt is spread out of way of the sticks.

I know there are guys that use the Sit Drag without a RCH but from what I have gathered most recommend using them together. I suppose an option could be to sew some strong loops on each side of the RCH for attaching the carabiners to.

Although I am a rookie I feel comfortable ditching the RCH but I don't want to add considerable risk either. I appreciate hearing perspectives from those that use both together or just the Sit Drag alone.

Thanks!!

Only you can determine the risk you will accept