• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Stick/Platform combo

Fairchild#17

.lone wolf platform 1.jpglone wolf platform 2.jpglone wolf platform 4.jpglone wolf platform 5.jpg

I graduated from a full body harness, to a rock climbing harness, and now to a Tethrd Mantis saddle.
I wanted to make an ultra lite platform for those quick "hour after work" hunts since that's what I tend to hunt most anymore. I put a lone wolf seat on a lone wolf stick and the total weight came in at 4.4 pounds. I'll either take in all four sticks with aiders or maybe just do a "two stick" method and leapfrog the first stick until I get to the height I need....then hang the stick with the platform.
It definitely has some movement side to side, but it is dead quiet and spongey feeling under foot. No sudden shifting. I think I can get used to it.

Try as I might, I could not get this to kick out with side pressure.

I'm really liking the Tethrd Mantis. Even with the RC harness I found myself standing and leaning more than sitting. The true saddle makes it even more comfortable.

Try this method.

I bet that's tricky to get on

It's no more difficult than stepping up onto any other step or platform. You just need to swing your leg out a little wider. Also, it flips up and down if that's how you would prefer.
It's also one less separate thing to carry and only added 2 pounds to my stick. I'm not sure there is another 2 pound platform out there?