• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Stitching Pattern and Quality

Petrops

I am really new to both a saddle and a sewing machine. So I have a significant interest in learning all I can before hoisting my pittard 20' in the air trusting my own rookie work. I figured I may not be alone in this insecurity so I wanted to start a thread where we could get some feedback on our work. I am sure that others have questions about stitch patterns, stitches per inch etc. I have seen answers distributed as part of larger threads but thought I would start this one focused on stitching itself.

One particular question I have right now is:

"Is my tension correct?"

I saw the great diagram that showed 3 views of tension and I get the basic idea that the tension should be set so that the lock between threads is in the middle of the material sandwich. I have seen other examples where tension problems are displayed as more dramatic examples of significant differences between the top and bottom stitching with loose threads, rats nests etc. I am wondering how precise the need is to get a perfect balance between top and bottom thread so that the lock is exactly in the middle.