• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Tengu Harness question

Tuhlmann

I’m new to saddle hunting, but not to tree climbing & industrial rope access. I am familiar with various work harnesses and arborist saddles but have never hunted from one. Stumbling upon this forum was a great find for me and I’m learning a lot.

Starting to sort out what I want for a loadout to hunt but I’m late to the dance for this season it looks like, but I have a New Tribe Kengu rec saddle that is phenomenally comfortably to sit it for long periods of time. I climb trees using SRT methods not common to most recreational climbers, but am open to adapting to other techniques better suited to quietness & stealth for hunting.

My question is this...what benefit is there to using a bridge instead of clipping my tree tether directly into the delta link at saddle center? Would a sitdrag offer a big advantage in comfort over using the Tengu alone?

I'll tell you from my experience clipping into an RCH single point vs using a sit drag with a bridge, clipping into the bridge allows you to rotate your hips to get good form on a shot from behind you. when you try this clipped into a single point you cannot rotate the same way being connected to 1 central point that doesn't allow you to rotate your hips.

that's just my two cents...

Also if you can i'd be interested in seeing your SRT methods via video...