• The SH Membership has gone live. Only SH Members have access to post in the classifieds. All members can view the classifieds. Starting in 2020 only SH Members will be admitted to the annual hunting contest. Current members will need to follow these steps to upgrade: 1. Click on your username 2. Click on Account upgrades 3. Choose SH Member and purchase.
  • We've been working hard the past few weeks to come up with some big changes to our vendor policies to meet the changing needs of our community. Please see the new vendor rules here: Vendor Access Area Rules

Trouble with Wild Edge Stepps

cmg7890

I just received my Stepps last week. Still waiting on my saddle to come in so obviously I am a beginner. I have been working with the steps and am really struggling. Small, smooth trees are fairly easy, but any tree with irregular textures seem almost impossible. In any case, I would appreciate any advice. I clearly am not going to be ready to use these this season, if ever. I would also appreciate recommendations for climbing sticks that don’t have quite the same learning curve. Thanks.

Put the step where you want it and cam it over. It will dig a little hole where the teeth grab the tree. Then uncam the step tighten the loop a little and re cam. It should be pretty tight after that. WE steps aren't plug and play unfortunately but once you get the hang of them they are easy to get solid the first time. Some trees just don't work as well as others but using the method I just described even gets them tight enough on pine trees which are the worst for the steps